Ms Heather C.

Contact Heather

I'm a qualified teacher of Modern Foreign Languages with an Honours degree in French with German from Durham University and a PGCE (Post-Graduate Certificate of Education) from Cambridge University. I have lived in both France and Germany, where I laid down good conversational levels on top of sound academic knowledge of the languages.

I recently returned to university (Plymouth) as a decidedly mature student to attain an MSc Psychology - with Merit.

In my current position, I prefer to offer 'quick boost' or shorter term tuition.

Tutoring experience

I have taught Modern Foreign Languages, and I have taught EFL (English as a Foreign Language) - or ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages) - in the UK and abroad.

I am familiar with state and independent schools, having taught French and German in both, up to and including A-Level.

I have kept up with more recent curricular and syllabus changes in a range of subject areas while seeing my children through school and onward to university, including preparation for some highly competitive higher education and career destinations.

Certified in EFL, I have taught in a wide range of well-reputed language schools and in the FE and Adult Learning sectors. My varied experience includes preparation for most of the recognised exams and Academic as well as Business English.

I have been an IELTS examiner and conducted and assessed City & Guild exams.

I also offer French and German courses to adult learners who wish to make some preparation for work assignments or holidays, or to boost their general interest.
I have taught languages to staff and apprentices in businesses.

I have completed a 10-module foundation course (supported by Torquay Boys' Grammar School) in French for primary school children.

I now offer tuition in Psychology up to GCSE.

Please note, I can also ably and empathetically assist with Basic (English) Skills and Adult Literacy.

Approach to tutoring

I see a teacher as a facilitator and motivator. Students find me good at understanding the root of difficulties and at explaining things, patiently and with flexibility of approach. Teaching material depends on the student's individual requirements. Basics can be taught and require the student's application to learn them, but the learning 'comes alive' when students try out and 'manipulate' the particular features of the subject for themselves, whether it's through written exercises or spoken exchange.
And for this, they need, as we all do, their confidence built up through clear and reinforced explanation, encouragement and praise.

I enjoy getting along with different people - and all ages are welcome! - and, more specifically, seeing students overcome stumbling blocks and 'get it'. In other words: a 'can do' environment.

Qualifications

YearCourseGradeInstitution
2018MSc PsychologyMeritUniversity of Plymouth
2017Graduate Cert. in PsychologyDistinctionLondon Metropolitan University
1983PGCE-University of Cambridge
1981BA (Hons)2.iiDurham University

Availability:Weekdays (daytime and evening) / Weekends
Tuition location:Tutor's home / Your home (up to 3 miles away)
References:Y
DBS (CRB) check:Y