Ms Pempi Wycherley

Contact Pempi

My name is Pempi and I really like Physics and Maths. So much so that I studied them at Cambridge University some years ago before qualifying and going off to a first career in IT and management. I returned to my subject home base a few years later when I discovered that I could communicate Physics and Maths particularly well with students - with enthusiasm, patience and always with encouragement. I now tutor full time and enjoy it because every student is different: no two students are the same, no two sessions are the same.

It is also an enormous privilege to hear back from my students years later when they check in with tales of their university experience, first jobs and their plans for the future. It makes a difference.

Tutoring experience

I have been a tutor for over ten years now, working with students both face-to-face and online. This has brought me into contact with a wide variety of people with very different needs and goals, so I have plenty of experience adapting to the individual. I usually teach A Level (AQA, OCR and Edexcel) although I have branched out to some BTECs and have also provided some top-up support to students in their first year of university. I happen (separately) to work at a university, so I am acutely aware of how study patterns evolve after A Levels. I build this preparation into my tuition sessions for those wanting to go on to further education.

Approach to tutoring

I think they key to good tuition is to be very flexible. Consequently, I design each session according to the needs and goals of that particular student. Comprehension is absolutely key so I make sure they really understand what they are doing. That said, problem solving, study skills, confidence building and exam technique also have their part to play. My approach to tuition explores any and all of these, as each student needs. Also, questions from students are always welcomed, and frequently lead to some very interesting discussions.



Availability:Weekdays (daytime and evening)
Tuition location:Tutor's home only
DBS check:Y